Tags

, ,

As much as I’ve been lazy about writing this post, I’ve been really busy too so my sincere apologies (for past and future, just in case).
    I don’t know why it took me soo long to read this book- The Fault in Our Stars for it’s really lovely.Better late than never anyways. A lot of tears were released, a record breaking amount of them as a matter of fact.
    A book about two teenagers having cancer, love and an early death in common, John Green tells us this story through the eyes of Hazel Grace a terminal cancer patient suffering from thyroid cancer. Thanks to her mum, she attends a support group where she meets Augustus (Gus) Waters and a friendship blossoms .
  The character of Gus is just so splendid, his perspective on life and sense of humour makes him my favourite.
The amazing power of books is brought out as Hazel’s favourite book – An Imperial Affliction creates a strong connection, practically their relationship that eventually takes them to Netherlands to get answers from the author. Suffice to say they were rather disappointed and then the news that Gus’ cancer had returned with full force.
This was an unexpected twist… I  thought Hazel would die first. All the same, throughout the book,I understood more clearly  how difficult it is for the family and friends of terminally ill patients and I think they are honestly very brave.
My favourite quotes:
“You don’t have to choose if you get hurt in this world,but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope she likes hers”
     ” Like the doctors say: First, do no harm. The real heroes anyway aren’t the people doing things; the real heroes are the people NOTICING things, paying attention. The guy who invented the smalpox vaccine didn’t actually invent anything. He just noticed that people with cowpox didn’t get smallpox.”
       “Without pain we couldn’t know joy”
         “Hazel Grace, when you’re as charming and physicaly attractive as myself, it’s easy enough to win over people you meet. But getting strangers to love you . . . now, that’s the trick”
      “The world is not a wish granting factory”.
       “I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things.”
   
I wish I could write out all the words, but then you probably won’t read this book if you haven’t. Five stars for this book and more reviews hopefully on the way.

